If Jeffrey Toobin Was a Trans Woman…

He’d be banished from public life forever. Instead, media men are imploring for forgiveness.

Katelyn Burns
3 min readOct 21, 2020
(Credit: Mychal Watts/Getty Images)

New Yorker staff writer Jeffrey Toobin was suspended Monday for allegedly masturbating on camera during an election-related Zoom call, according to a VICE report. The details of the incident quickly caught the attention of social media users, who immediately mocked the journalist and CNN legal analyst.

Toobin’s excuse was that he didn’t realize that his camera was on and he could be seen by his New Yorker colleagues, without acknowledging that he probably should have at least waited for non-work time to whip out his hog.

“I made an embarrassingly stupid mistake, believing I was off-camera. I apologize to my wife, family, friends and co-workers,” Toobin told Motherboard. “I believed I was not visible on Zoom. I thought no one on the Zoom call could see me. I thought I had muted the Zoom video.”

Despite the social media mockery over Toobin’s suspension, some of his media colleagues took to his defense in an amazing display of male solidarity, pleading for forgiveness for a bumbling man who simply misunderstood technology and exhibited some poor judgment.

--

--

Katelyn Burns

Political journalist. The first openly trans Capitol Hill reporter in US history. Writing about more than just trans issues. Follow her on Twitter @transscribe