5 good minutes with SVB

I recently had a chance to catch up with Overwatch content creator SVB to talk about the launch of Overwatch 2

Katelyn Burns
10 min readOct 31, 2022

Anyone who knows me understands how obsessed I am with Overwatch. And certainly anyone who follows my Medium page here is probably confused why this trans writer who has written award winning work on the trans rights movement is always writing about this game.

I came back to Overwatch after fixing my desktop computer at the start of the pandemic and I’ve fallen in love with it all over again. And now, with this month’s release of the game’s sequel, Overwatch 2, I’m watching a bunch of other people fall in love with the game just as I did a few years ago.

This Medium outlet has given me the joy and freedom to write about this game that I love when the editors that I usually work with only want me for trans content and for that I’ll always be thankful.

Last month, I talked with Frankie de la Cretaz about the A League of their Own series on Amazon Prime and this month I’m proud to bring you another interview, this time with Overwatch content creator SVB. This interview has been edited for length and content but please enjoy below.

(Editor’s note: my contract with Medium is ending at the end of this month and I will no longer be producing content for this site. I plan to continue the interview series over on my Patreon page for $5/mo subscribers. Find out more here: patreon.com/katelynburns)

--

--

Katelyn Burns

Political journalist. The first openly trans Capitol Hill reporter in US history. Writing about more than just trans issues. Follow her on Twitter @transscribe